FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE



November 7, 2018

Cowichan Valley Regional District inaugurates new Board of Directors

Duncan, BC – The Cowichan Valley Regional District's new slate of Directors was sworn in to office at its Inaugural Board Meeting tonight.

A total of 15 elected officials representing the CVRD's nine electoral areas and four municipalities took oaths of office and became its Board of Directors for a four-year term. The CVRD Board is now composed of the following:

| Electoral Area | Director |
|--|-------------------|
| Area A – Mill Bay/Malahat | Blaise Salmon |
| Area B – Shawnigan Lake | Sierra Acton |
| Area C – Cobble Hill | Mike Wilson |
| Area D – Cowichan Bay | Lori lannidinardo |
| Area E – Cowichan Station/ Sahtlam / Glenora | Alison Nicholson |
| Area F – Cowichan Lake South / Skutz Falls | Ian Morrison |
| Area G – Saltair / Gulf Islands | Lynne Smith |
| Area H – North Oyster / Diamond | Mary Marcotte |
| Area I – Youbou / Meade Creek | Klaus Kuhn |

| Municipality | Director |
|----------------|------------------|
| North Cowichan | Al Siebring |
| North Cowichan | Kate Marsh |
| North Cowichan | Rob Douglas |
| Duncan | Michelle Staples |
| Ladysmith | Aaron Stone |
| Lake Cowichan | Tim McGonigle |

Director Ian Morrison was elected Chair of the Cowichan Valley Regional District and the Cowichan Valley Regional Hospital Board, and Director Sierra Acton was elected Vice Chair of the Board.

"I look forward to leading this Board of Directors in an inclusive and balanced manner, and ensure the wide range of ideas, goals and values in the Cowichan region are given a voice and an audience at our Board table," said Ian Morrison, Chair of the Cowichan Valley Regional District.

- 30 -

For more information, please contact:

Kris Schumacher Manager, Communications & Engagement 250.746.2635 kschumacher@cvrd.bc.ca